Book title: My Abuelita written by Tony Johnston and illustrated by Yuyi Morales

APA Citation: Johnston, T., & Morales, Y. (2009). My Abuelita. Orlando, FL: Harcourt Children’s Books.

Short Annotation: This story is about a little Mexican girl who follows her grandma (abuelita) around during her morning routine. She already know the things her abuelita does in the morning yet she still follows her. In the end, she says she wants to be just like her abuelita when she gets old.

Genre: Fiction

Grade Level: 1-3

Intended Audience: I think this is a good book for first to third graders. It could be used for kindergartners too but I think there are too many words for them to really understand the story.

Personal Rating: 8/10 I thought it was kind of difficult to read because of how choppy the sentences were, but I think that was what Johnston was going for. However, the ending was very sweet and so were the illustrations!

Text-Dependent Question: “What did the little girl remind her abuelita to get?”

