Book Title: Thank You, Mr. Falker by Patricia Polacco

APA Citation: Polacco, P. (1998). Thank you, Mr. Falker. New York, NY: Philomel Books.

Short Annotation: This story is about a little girl named Trisha who grew up having trouble reading. Although she loved to draw, she could not read letters, number, nor books. Other students made fun of her up until she was in Mr. Falker’s 5th grade classroom. He and the reading teacher met with her after school for months until one day she was finally able to read. That little girl was Patricia Polacco.

Genre: Non-fiction picture book

Grade Level: 1-5

Intended Readers: I think this book would be great for kids in first through fifth grade. At first I thought it might just be for first through third graders but since she couldn’t read until fifth grade, I think that will reassure fifth graders who struggle in reading that they are not alone.

Personal Rating: 10/10, I really liked this book and what the teacher did for Trisha. He went out of his way and teaches me that I should never limit myself as a future teacher. I really liked the ending when she said that the little girl was her. That surprised me quite a bit.

Text-Dependent Question: “Who are the people that motivated Trisha to read? How did each individual help motivate her?”

