Newberry Medal Winner

Bibliographic Information: DiCamillo, K. (2003). The tale of despereaux: Being the story of a princess, some soup and a spool of thread. Massachusetts. Candlewick Press.

Short Annotation: This story is about a mouse who is in love with a princess and has a very creative imagination. And the story also has three other characters that work together to get out of the dungeon together.

Genre: Animal Fiction

Grade Level: 5th grade

Readers who will like this book: Readers who like animals as main characters. Also readers that like a fantasy type of story that have a princess and a hero.

Personal Response and Rating: (1-4): 4. I can’t believe I never read this book when I was in school. I loved it! I loved how a small mouse can be super brave and save the day with the strength he has.

Text-Dependent Question: Who is Gregory? And what does he contribute to the story?

 

