Reference: Nelson, Kadir. (2008). We are the ship: The story of Negro league baseball. Grand Haven, MI: Brilliance Audio.

Brief Annotation: This audiobook by Kadir Nelson is about the history of Negro baseball. It is an honest depiction of the hardships that African Americans faced in life itself, but precisely the hardships within the baseball leagues.

 Genre: Historical, Non-Fiction

 Grade Level: 4th Grade and up

 Readers who would like this book: I believe that any reader who is interested in the history of baseball or sports would love this book. I also think readers who are interested in civil rights and history itself, would also really enjoy this book.

 Rating and Response: I give this book a 5/5. I am not a huge fan of baseball, but I do enjoy history. I learned many new things about the Negro League as well as civil rights in this book. I would recommend this book to others.

 Text- Dependent Question: What are some hardships that African Americans on the Negro League faced at this time?

Strategy: Double-Entry Journal. I would have the students make a chart on a piece of paper. On the left side I would have them select two quotes from the book, and on the right side, I would have them reflect on the quote they selected. (p.35).

This strategy would allow students to work on their comprehension skills as well as their writing skills.

Tompkins, G. E. (2013). 50 literacy strategies: Step by step. New Jersey: Pearson Education Inc.

