Reference: Brett, J. (1995). Armadillo rodeo. New York, NY: G.P. Putnam’s Sons.

Brief Annotation: Bo the armadillo is extremely adventurous and often wonders off from his mother and brothers. One day he spots a bright red armadillo near his home. What Bo thinks is an armadillo is actually a cowgirl’s boots. Bo follows the boots to the rodeo and gets separated from his mother and brothers. He is trying to make a new friend without much luck, but he does have an adventure.

Genre: Fiction

Grade Level: K- 3rd Grade

Readers who would like this book: I think readers who like armadillos or anything rodeo related would enjoy this book. It is humorous and the illustrations are amazing.

Rating and Response: I give this book a 5/5. I love the armadillo aspect as well as the rodeo theme. I think it is fun and adorable. I also enjoy Jan Brett’s illustrations.

Text-Dependent Question: What are some things Bo did to try to make friends with the cowgirls boots?

