Reference: Campoy, I. F., Howell, T., Lopez, R. (2016). Maybe something beautiful: How art transformed a neighborhood. New York, NY: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company.

Brief Annotation: Mira is a young girl living in a gray neighborhood in the city. She loves to paint and begins to hand out paintings to people walking throughout the town. One day, she meets an artist who paints walls. They instantly become friends and encourage the entire city to help paint the gray walls.

Genre: Non-fiction

Grade Level: 2nd Grade-4th Grade

 Readers who would like this book: I think readers who enjoy painting or art would enjoy this book. I also believe students who live in the city would be inspired to do the same as Mira in the book.

 Rating and Response: I give this book a 5/5. I love how it is a real story and so inspiring. I also think the illustrations are beautiful. It is a great book for children to read or to use as a read aloud.

Text-Dependent Question: Who came to paint the wall?

 

 

