Reference: Meister, C. (2015). Rapunzel: Stories around the world. Mankato, MN: Picture Window Books.

Brief Annotation: Unlike the American version, the Italian version considers the princesses capture to be an ogre. The princesses name is Perosinella. Some minor differences follow, but the overall plot follows the traditional Rapunzel story.

Genre: Fiction

 Grade Level: 2nd Grade- 4th Grade

 Readers who would like this book: Readers who are interested in different cultures and how cultures influence stories would enjoy this book.

 Rating and Response: I give this story a 4/5. I did not think it was too different than the American story, but I find my rating to be biased since I am so familiar with the American version.

Text-Dependent Question: What steps did the prince have to take to rescue the princess? Compare and contrast this story with the others.

 

