The Sniffles for Bear Written by Bonny Becker and Illustrated by Kady MacDonald Denton

Bibliographic Information:  Becker, B., & Denton, K. M. (2011). The sniffles for Bear. Somerville, MA: Candlewick Press.

Annotation:  The bear was very sick, but the mouse tried to help him and get him better.  The mouse tried to make the bear feel better by reading books, singing, playing music, and bringing the bear food.  The bear went to sleep and when he woke up, he felt better.  Then, the mouse started to get sick and the bear took care of the mouse.

Genre:  Fiction

Grade Level:  Kindergarten – 2nd Grade

Interested Readers:  Readers who are interested in animals being the main characters could be interested in this book.  Readers who are interested in a different spin on a theme could also be interested in this book because this book’s theme is friendship, but it uses animals to portray friendship.  This book could also interest students if they have a family member that is sick, to help support them.  This book could interest many students.

Personal Response and Rating:  I thought this book was well written. However, I didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I would.  I felt that this book was sadder than I would aspect when it comes to the theme friendship.  However, I did feel that this book was a unique outlook on friendship.  I would give this book a 3.5/5 star rating. 

Text-Dependent Question:  What did the mouse try to do to make the bear feel better?

