Snow White (Comparison #1): Snow White: A German fairy tale

Bibliographic Information: Gunderson, J., Montanar, E., (2015). Snow white: a german fairy tale. Minnesota. Picture Window Books.

Short Annotation: This version of Snow White is close to the movie version of this story. Instead Snow White brushes her hair with a poisoned comb and died until the seven dwarfs realize that the comb is poison so they take it out. Then the queen has Snow White eat a poisoned apple until a prince kissed her, and they marry and the queen dies by wearing sizzling hot shoes and dies. Snow White and the Prince live happily ever after.

Genre: Fairy Tale

Grade Level: 5th grade

Readers who will like this book: Readers that love reading about fairy tales and reading the fairy tales that come from different countries.

Personal Response and Rating: (1-4): 2. I felt this version of Snow White was way too graphic. I don’t think I would be able to have my students read this because of the imagery within the book. I love the illustrations but I can’t get over the graphic imagery.

Text- Dependent Question: Who does Snow White live with?

