pecan-pie-baby-300x300

Bibliographic Information: Woodson, J., & Blackall, S. (2010). Pecan Pie Baby. New York: G.P. Putnam’s Sons.

Short Annotation: Gia is a little girl who is told that she is going to become a big sister. Throughout the book we see her worry that she will lose the close bond she has with her mother.

Genre: Realistic Fiction

Grade Level: K -3

Readers who will like this book: readers who like to read about changes in a family; readers who like to read books about siblings; readers who have a child that is becoming an older sibling

Personal Response/Rating: 3 – I could totally relate to Gia because I also worried that I was going to lose my mom over the new baby. I also think this is a great book for kids who are scared of having a new baby in the family.

Text-Dependent Question: Why did Gia get in trouble?

