Pete the Cat: I Love My White Shoes by Eric Litwin and James Dean

Bibliographic Information:  Litwin, E., & Dean, J. (2010). Pete the cat: I love my white shoes. New York, NY: Harper.

Annotation:  Pete the Cat loves his white shoes, and while walking down the streets, he would sing his song.  But Pete steps in things to change his color of his shoes, such as strawberries, blueberries, and mud.  But, he also stepped in water, which washed away all the stains.  Pete, the cat, didn’t care what he walked in because he keeps walking along.

Genre:  Fiction

Grade Level:  Preschool – 2nd Grade

Interested Readers:  This book could interest many readers which include readers who like animals, and readers who like books about strong morals.  This book could also interest readers based on the creativity and illustrations.

Personal Response and Rating:  This book is a cute book filled with great illustrations and a strong moral.  I enjoyed the moral of keep going, and keep walking, even though sometimes things don’t go your way.  Overall, I would give this book a 5/5 star rating.

Text-Dependent Question:  What object made Pete’s shoes turn red?

