Reference: Wood, D. (1993). Old turtle. New York, NY: Scholastic Press.

Brief Annotation: This story is about different animals arguing where God is. The wise old turtle speaks up to tell all of the animals that God is everywhere and no matter what, he loves all and we need to accept everyone. If we do not take care of each other and remember where we are and where God is, our world will not be a happy place.

Genre: Fable, folk tale, and myths

Grade Level: K-2nd Grade

Readers who would like this book: I think students that enjoy reading about animals would love this book. It has a wide variety of animals and has beautiful descriptions of nature and God. It would be a good book for children wanting to read a book that ties into religion and acceptance.

Rating and Response: I give this book a 4/5. I remember having this book read to me when I was younger only after seeing the iconic illustration of the old turtle. I think the overall message of the book is fantastic, but the religious aspect might be a little much in a traditional classroom.

Text-Dependent Question: The old turtle told the rest of the animals that God was where?

