Reference: Crutcher, C. (2001). Whale talk. New York, NY: HarpeCollins.

Brief Annotation: T.J. is a young adult trying to find his place in school. One day his homeroom teacher asks T.J. to help him make a swim team for the school. During his search, he discovers that the boy being picked on at school, Chris Coughlin, is an excellent swimmer. The two become friends and work together to create a great swim team as well as help others along the way.

Genre: Sports Fiction

Grade Level: 4th-6th Grade

Readers who would like this book: I think readers who enjoy sports and more specifically swimming would enjoy this book. It holds a lot of details that make you want to read more. Although a lot is going on, it is a fascinating read.

Rating and Response: I give this book a 4/5. I am not a huge sports fan, so I struggle to read books like Whale Talk. Although I am not a sports fan, I thought the book had some great messages and managed to hold my attention.

Text-Dependent Question: Why did T.J. end up not receiving his lettermen jacket requirement?

